Sunday, July 03, 2016

July 4, 1776, the Continental Congress declared that the British Empire’s 13 American colonies were a new, free nation, the United States of America. Its primary author was Thomas Jefferson, who later became President.

Jefferson and John Adams, the only signers who became President, both died on July 4th -- in 1826. When James Monroe died on July 4, 1831, he became the third President in a row who died on that holiday.

Calvin Coolidge, the 30th President, born on July 4, 1872, is the only U.S. President born on Independence Day, which wasn’t called that until 1791.

Ohio was admitted into the Union on March 1, 1803. A legal misstep by Congress, which neglected to ratify the state constitution, was corrected retroactively in 1953.
Ohioans elected President are William Henry Harrison, born in Virginia; Ulysses S. Grant, born in Point Pleasant; Rutherford B. Hayes, born in Delaware; James A. Garfield, born in Moreland Hills; Benjamin Harrison, born in North Bend; William McKinley, born in Niles; William Howard Taft, born in Cincinnati; and Warren G. Harding, born in Blooming Grove.

Ironically, the Philippines celebrates July 4 when it ceased to be a U.S. territory. July 4 was intentionally chosen by the United States to match America’s Independence Day. It was observed in the Philippines as Independence Day until the name was changed to Republic Day in 1964.

No comments: